International Women’s Day 2017

rupi kaur_woman's greatest lesson


We are now in a time where the empowerment of women–all women–most definitely needs to be celebrated.  This is a time of uncertainty, and from certain perspectives, a time to fear.  But if anything, we can turn that around.  As women, we can remind the men, the institutions and the authorities who are trying to bring us down that it is we who should be feared, because it is we as women who will not be silenced and will instead rise and strengthen the lives of those around us and dear to our hearts.  Today, we celebrate what it means to be a woman, any woman–regardless of age, race, sexual orientation, or even those in transition or who have transitioned–and what it means to lift others.  It is true: empowered women will empower women, and we are the ones to teach the next generation that we are stronger together.

In honor of this wonderful day, I want to share some of my favorite quotes by some amazing women as well as from my favorite books, plays, TV shows & films that can really help us embrace & celebrate International Women’s Day!

{Favorite Quotes}

emma watson elegant

“If we stop defining each other by what we are not, and start defining ourselves by who we are, we can all be a lot freer.” ~Emma Watson

“Books! And cleverness…there are more important things!–Friendship, and bravery!” ~ Hermoine Granger, Harry Potter series

“She isn’t perfect, but she tries. She is messy, but she’s kind.” ~Jenna, Waitresshere_comes_a_thought_by_xshujin-dafn7cq

“Take a moment to think of just flexibility, love, and trust.” ~ Garnet & Stevonnie, Steven Universe

“You have to let me do things on my own. I don’t need a hero. I need a friend.” ~ Star Butterfly, Star vs. the Forces of Evil

“I am a woman phenomenally.  Phenomenal woman, that’s me.” ~ Maya Angelou

“Always be the leading lady of your own life.” ~ Audrey Hepburn

lea michele_glee on set candid“You don’t have to look like everybody else! Love who you are. If you believe in yourself, you can make yourself whatever you want to be.” ~ Lea Michele

“To all the girls who think you’re fat because you’re not a size zero? You’re the beautiful one. It’s society that is ugly.”  ~Marilyn Monroe

“You can try to dirty my name, but I’ll wear your hate like war paint.” ~Madalyn Beck

“Don’t let what he wants eclipse what you need. He’s very dreamy, but he’s not the sun. You are.” ~ Cristina Yang, Grey’s Anatomy

princess leia_a new hope“I’m a damsel. I’m in distress. I can handle this. Have a nice day!” ~ Megara, Hercules

“I don’t need rescuing.” ~ Princess Leia, Star Wars

“Stay afraid, but do it anyway. What’s important is the action. You don’t have to wait to be confident. Just do it and the confidence will follow.” ~ Carrie Fisher

“The only way to get what you want in this world is through hard work. And there ain’t nothing gonna stop me now, ’cause I’m almost there.” ~ Tiana, Princess & the Frog

“I can’t think of any better representation of beauty than someone who is unafraid to be herself.” ~ Emma Stone

“Here’s to the ones who dream, crazy as they may seem.” ~ Mia, La La Land

hidden figures_celebrate“Yes, they let women do some things at NASA, Mr. Johnson. And it’s not because we wear skirts. It’s because we wear glasses.” ~ Katherine Johnson, Hidden Figures

“When we put our differences aside and we come together as a human race, we win. Love wins. Everytime.” ~Taraji P. Henson

“There is no limit to what we as women can accomplish.” ~ Michelle Obama

mulan_swordfight“I never think about the outcome: did I ‘fail’ or ‘succeed’? I just think about the experience. That’s the secret.  Then you lose your fear and expose yourself to new things and people and situations, and that’s how you grow & have passion for life. That’s freedom.” ~ Lucy Liu

“How ’bout a girl who’s got a brain? Who always speaks her mind?” ~ Fa Mulan, Mulan

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. You can be queen and still be a bride.” ~ Kiera Cass’ The Heir

“I don’t want to be afraid anymore. I want to be brave. I want life to start happening.” ~ Lara Jean Song, To All the Boys I’ve Ever Loved

“It’s the fear of looking stupid that keeps you from being awesome.” ~ Kiera Cass’ The Selection

“Yojessica day_cookingu’re a beautiful, talented, brilliant, powerful musk ox.” ~ Leslie Knope, Parks & Rec

“What’s wrong with being confident?” ~ Demi Lovato

“I brake for birds. I rock a lot of polka dots. I’ve touched glitter in the last 24 hours. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not smart and tough and strong.” ~ Jessica Day, New Girl

“She turns her can’ts into can’s, and her dreams into plans.” ~ Kate Spade

“‘Why the f*ck not me?’ should be your motto.” ~ Mindy Kaling

“Never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance & opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.” ~Hillary ClintonIMG_2856

“The only tired I was, was tired of giving in.” ~ Rosa Parks

“Follow your arrow. And when you reach the end of your rope? Tie a knot a hold on.” ~ Debbie Williamson

“I have a letter…and in the letter is written all the things that a woman knows. It’s never been told to any man and it’s never been told to any woman, and if it finds its destination, a new time will come. We’re not what books and plays say we are. We’re not what advertisements say we are. We’re not in the movies and we’re not on the radio. We’re not what you’re all told and what you think we are: we’re ourselves.” ~ Mrs. Antrobus, The Skin of Our Teeth


May we all continue to persist. Happy Women’s Day. ❤

xo,

Sara

Leave a Reply

