Goodbye Summer 2016, Hello September!

Seriously, where did the summer go?

those summer nights

It seems like it was just a few days ago that I finished my second year at NYU and decided with my parents that I’d stay in NYC for the summer to work. Now: it’s the first day of September, I’ve got my first apartment ever, I’ve worked two jobs this whole summer–one of which is the amazing opportunity to be a kate spade new york muse, SDCC came and went, took a few road trips here and there, my junior year at NYU & 3rd year with Atlantic studios is about to begin in 5 days, and I’ve survived my first summer away from my home and family in California (barely). This is NUTS!! How did this happen??

You never really pay attention to those summer days & long summer nights until fall rolls around the corner and you’re packing your bags for school again. It’s crazy that this happens year after year, and even so, I’m still never prepared for it!  But hey, I’m now part of the 3rd year class of Atlantic Acting Studios, and we’re the “seniors” of the studio! So stoked to finally be mentors to the first years, and getting to perform in full-blown, fully-produced shows! So many amazing opportunities coming our way in our final year at ATC.

this year we're gonna rule the school

Plus, a lot has changed in 3 short years of living in New York City. I feel like I’m wiser and more self-aware of myself physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I think that, of course, coming to NYU has blessed me with being connected to not only great friends and collaborators, but also to myself.  I have a better sense of what I want to do with my life, who I am in this world, and who I want to be part of my journey as I continue on.  All of that? It’s because of what I learned as an artist while being part of Atlantic Studios and the NYU community.  You embrace changes in life, but you shouldn’t have to change who you are or the core of your being for anyone; you embrace what you were given and you thrive from it as well as grow with it.  So, with fall coming around the corner, I can’t wait to see what changes and wonderfully exciting occasions are to come my way!  And, even though my best friends have moved on to different studios and we won’t see each other in classes everyday, we’ll always be there to support each other with each new project we take on and each new production we star in. Artists supporting artists. ❤

pink ladies lets go get em

And yeah, I know I’m using a LOT of Grease gifs in this post. But hey, it’s relatable as heck when it comes to growing up and coming-of-age topics, right?  Even when you’re in your early 20s. Still can relate.

Let’s see what you’ve got, September.  I’m ready for you…at least in terms of fashion and fall-ish weather. Not school though; still trying to mentally prepare myself for that.

kristen wiig omg-excited.gif

xo Sara

Leave a Reply

